Siouxland Nature Photography, Stone State Park

17 Jul

Recently the meteorologists were all over the summer polar vortex, the cooler temperatures pushing down into the Midwest and even getting into the Siouxland area. I am a cool weather kind of guy. Fall, early spring, and those winter days in the 20’s are all good by me. So I took advantage and did a walk in a local state park, Stone State Park. When I talk with students in some of my continuing education photo classes, I always emphasis learning to see the light, and then interpreting that light into what kind of photographic image you want to create. I arrived at the park not yet mid-morning, cool temperatures and walked. I like seeing how the light falls onto the landscape. I have made this walk countless times, and it is always different. The light is always different. And I always tell myself one of these days I will do this earlier in the morning with more slanting rays of light. Listening to the birds sing, feeling the breeze and seeing the light and shadow created within the forest. It is magical. And I hope to catch in my photos some fleeting semblance of that magic and share it, or the share the magic of it with my students in the next class.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

