Siouxland alleyways, Le Mars

16 Feb

When I teach people attending my photography classes at the local community college, I always try to impress upon them that they should look around when they photograph. Photography is seeing, and overcoming possible preconceived ideas of what they are looking to capture image-wise. The other day when it was nice out, that is warmer, I went for a drive and ended in Le Mars, Iowa. I walked around the small town for a bit, even down an alleyway or two. In small towns, there is not the feeling of trepidation one might have, understandably, as in a large city. And I found some interesting shadows on the backs of these downtown buildings. More interesting in that there were no trees lining the alleyway which I found more intriguing. Some nice hard afternoon light and it made for a nice image.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

2 Responses to “Siouxland alleyways, Le Mars”

  1. Patty Redmond February 16, 2015 at 10:18 am #

    I’m registered for your class (Christmas gift from family) beginning in March and looking forward to it. Excited!

    • jerrymennenga March 2, 2015 at 9:22 am #

      Patty,
      My apologies for not replying sooner. Glad you like the images and we will have fun in class. happy shooting until then.

      jerry

Leave a Reply

