Passing storms in Siouxland

20 Jul

Recently the Siouxland area has had a number of summertime storms passing through. Some rain, some thunderstorms. It is to be expected this time of year. Some happen overnight. You wake up when the flashing is bright and comes into your windows. Sometimes I hear the thunder and sometimes I don’t. When the lightning is especially bright, it gets your attention, even if you are sleeping.

I was out driving the other day and was looking for some storm-like photos, having seen reports that storms had passed the immediate area by, but found that not to be the case. When photographing some clouds with the sun behind them, I could hear distant rumbling. Like the stories of yore when the gods are talking to one another and Thor is banging his hammer. As I continued to drive, it started to rain. Not heavy, not until I made it back to Sioux City. And when it begins raining hard, I don’t tend to shoot photos anymore, unless I am someplace under cover. When working for newspapers, yes, it was expected. But now, writing for my blog, I like to keep my gear dry.And my smaller Fuji mirroless gear is not as protected weather-wise as my Canon stuff.

No lightning while I was driving back. And as I get older, maybe I should be out shooting at night trying to capture the lightning, but at 1 or 2 a.m., I tend to roll over and go back to sleep.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

