Grazing horses in Siouxland, Rural Cherokee County

25 Aug

Sometimes just driving around some back gravel roads in Sioxland you come upon a scene that just stands out. Although when I am out with students they will look at something and not see what I see. It could be a big open field. Tall weeds, drifting clouds and some horses off in the distance. But I see what I am looking for in my head and am trying to impart that aspect of photography to my students. It took me a while to get there, and I tell them patience and continued shooting and looking and editing. Then you come to a place where you finally start to find what you are seeing, because your mind is always working in the background. Much like software programs when you sit at your computer.

Clouds, field, grazing horses, sunny day, it is a no-brainer for me, even at a distance. Then you get closer.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

