Quiet Refuge in Siouxland, Adams Homestead

30 Oct

It’s not that far away, but sometimes visiting the Adams Homestead and Nature Preserve it feels like one has escaped the hustle of city life while taking a walk through the Homestead grounds or through the Preserve itself. The last of the Adams’ family descendants lived on site until their passing and gave the land to the state of South Dakota as a park for local residents and visitors alike to enjoy it. by mid-November the Homestead will be celebrating its annual Christmas at the Homestead which is always fun.

The day I visited in August started out as a little dreary and overcast, which seemed a perfect match for my using a Holga lens to photograph the area on my Fuji X camera. The day’s atmosphere and the lens seemed to create a bit of dreamscape affect which I liked.

I find I am getting different results using this lens with an adapter on my Fuji camera than when I used it directly on my Canon. During the film days I shot with a 120 Holga camera and so know the results I hope to come close to. The digital affect is not quite the same since Holga cameras and their light leaks were unpredictable yet always amazing.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

