Keeping in the swing of things in Siouxland

20 Dec

During the fall months and even warmer days in December, I like to sit on my porch swing to read or just enjoy the neighborhood. And my cat does as well. On those chillier days I am not against taking a fleece blanket out with me to wrap up in and cover my legs, must like being on a cruise ship. It’s a nice place to read and spend some time. And my cat likes to jump up onto my lap and burrow itself down into the fleece.

One day I noticed the swing moving through the window, and thought it odd, since the wind was not really blowing day. Then I noticed the little fur ball hunkered down, getting comfy, and figured out that my cat enjoys the swing as much as I do, not worrying as it gently rocks itself into place after leaping onto it. It was a bit surprising. But pets can be that sometimes.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Small Fry sitting on the porch swing Dec. 5, 2015, enjoying a warming trend for the week. (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga ©)

Small Fry sitting on the porch swing Dec. 5, 2015, enjoying a warming trend for the week. (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga ©)

Leave a Reply

