Enjoying Winter in Siouxland, Bacon Creek Park

19 Jan

I am finding that as I get a bit older, the less I like walking around in temperatures below 10 degrees. Well actually 15 degrees. And if it’s colder and the wind is blowing making an even colder windchill temperature, it just sucks. But on the other hand, when the sun is shining, I find I can brave the cold for a short walk and sometimes head out to a nearby park, Bacon Creek Park, in Sioux City, Iowa.

So I did a couple weeks back, braved the cold, went for a short walk in a park in Siouxland, and saw some nice light and shadows with an afternoon sun. I saw others had been out before me, and I am happy for them. Maybe they stayed a little longer than I did. In winter it may look inviting with the sun shining, and it is, but one still needs to bundle up. My 30-40 minutes of exertion however gave me some nice light/shadow images and breathing in some fresh air is always good. And since February is closer now than it was, I know spring is on its way.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

3 Responses to “Enjoying Winter in Siouxland, Bacon Creek Park”

  1. v4vikey January 19, 2016 at 11:44 am #

    Beautiful Place and Photo

    • jerrymennenga January 19, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      v4vikey,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a nice place for a walk. You have a great week.

      jerry

      • v4vikey January 19, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

        Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.