Finding history in Siouxland, Hornick

18 Apr

Recently I drove through the small community of Hornick, Iowa on my way to the southern portion of Siouxland when I saw the small town’s public library. I am certain I had seen it before, but it didn’t register. The brick building is the original library, built in 1895. And a later addition was added in the 1970’s I believe.

The library wasn’t open the day I drove through and so went back to check it out and was pleasantly surprised that it has been in continuous use since its opening and has served countless residents of this small community and is still a meeting place for locals, if the only meeting place. And it is the locals that will keep the history of the building and its need for the community functioning, providing a place to spend time and meet friends and remember their own past and connection to the community.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

