Solitude in Siouxland, Sacred Heart Monastery, Yankton, SD

9 May

Sometimes no matter how many times I visit a place, I always like to return. Some places I return to more often if I am in the area than others. The Sacred Heart Monastery in Yankton, South Dakota, is one such place. No matter the bustle and hustle surrounding yourself, there is always peace and solitude there, and everyone is welcomed. On my last visit I heard one of the Benedictine Sisters playing piano in the chapel and I stayed quiet and listened, not disturbing her until she was finished. And then to only ask a few questions. The same is true of the grounds behind the chapel that is a bluff overlooking the Missouri River. Time seems to wash over the place giving one a chance to catch their breath, breath deep and forget about the world for a time. There should be more such places.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

