Exploring Siouxland, Merrill

22 May

Another nearby Siouxland community to which I live near is Merrill, Iowa. It too is a community through which I have driven many times or driven by on one of the highways. Going someplace, but not stopping. Until finally I did. As with most small communities, it has a grain elevator which anchors its business district around which the small town prospers.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

2 Responses to “Exploring Siouxland, Merrill”

  1. Wãshē Kōdä May 22, 2016 at 9:27 pm #

    For yrs before GPS I always knew where I was from the names on the grain towers ! heck to this day still have NO GPS 😉

  2. jerry mennenga May 23, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

    Washe,

    Yes. When I head to Orange City, I always look for the grain elevator and know my turn is there. Navigating by sight. Plus names on the bins are helpful.
    jerry

Leave a Reply

