A Summer’s Day in Siouxland, Le Mars

31 Jul

I was planning on getting to the Plymouth County Fair this past week but sometimes plans don’t always happen. The day I intended to go I had lunch with friends, then dealt with some errands that needed attention and by the time I was ready to head out, the day was already afternoon and I decided spending money just to get into the fair for maybe a couple of hours, wasn’t worth the venture, since I had to be up early the next morning for a photo shoot.

So instead I headed to the site of the fair, Le Mars, Iowa, and consoled myself for missing it by getting an ice cream cone from the Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlour and then walking about town a bit, enjoying a beautiful summer’s day in Siouxland with blue sky, puffy white clouds, warmth, not much humidity and a tranquility that I remember from childhood. Other visits I would check out the alleys and see if there were new murals added, but this time I just walked. I went to visit the local museum, but it was closed for the week for the fair.

Sometimes plan go awry, and the results are not pleasant, but my plans for the fair ended up being better than a fair day and enjoying the moment.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

