Revisiting Solitude in Siouxland, Sacred Heart Monastery

2 Sep

While up in Yankton, South Dakota, recently, I attended an annual community celebration which I still need to post. But after that event, I took time to revisit the Sacred Heart Monastery and the Bishop Marty Chapel located in Yankton. A place of quiet, most times solitude, and one of reflection, this time I recorded scenes in B&W. I find that black and white images most times distills the image down to its essence. What that means, I will leave to philosophers. But there are times I find that B&W does not distract the viewer as color may sometimes do. But again, that’s all in the eye of the beholder. So many cliches, so little time.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

