Visiting Relatives outside of Siouxland, Illinois

13 Oct

A few weeks ago I made a trip to Illinois to attend the 50th wedding anniversary of a cousin. It is nice to see your relatives and hear how everyone is doing. Especially since I don’t see them often. And since I was driving from Siouxland I made a stop to check out the small town of Manlius, IL the name I remember from childhood but not much more than that. Western Illinois is populated with small towns and communities much like those in Siouxland, and it gave me pause to see one that is relatively similar to so many I have seen in northwest Iowa. A community that after its founding made great gains and enjoyed prosperity, but like most small communities, its glory days are behind it and its children and residents moved to larger communities to pursue livelihoods and find their own way.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

