Siouxland Scenics, Rural Cherokee County

9 Nov

There are times when talking with students about shooting photographs that I explain when I encounter a subject most times I know what the image will be in my mind, even if it is not perfect in the camera when I make the exposure. Some days one doesn’t have a long enough lens or the light is close but just not quite snappy enough. Some of these things one can fix when post-processing the image. The other day while driving around rural Cherokee County I came across some cattle in a field. I liked the light that I saw and the scene as well. Wishful thinking would have had more fall foliage in the background. But one doesn’t always get what one wants. And later as I was looking at the images on the computer I realized that I liked a couple different croppings. I tell students the only half the work is actually taking the photograph, while another half is doing the editing to select and share the image you want a viewer to see. And somedays, it is hard.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

