Finding Details in Siouxland, Quimby

15 Nov

Sometimes when I revisit places or pass through again, I don’t believe I will see anything new. And I have passed through the Siouxland community of Quimby a few times but don’t recall if I actually stopped. On a recent day I did, and while Quimby is a lot like other small communities in rural Iowa, I was struck by one thing downtown. Doors. All buildings have doors, but these particular doors had character. And I found that very satisfying. But then again, it’a all a matter of taste and I have been accused a few times of not having any.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

