Waiting in Siouxland for the Light, Yankton, SD

11 Jan

As I’ve gotten older I sometimes catch myself feeling a little impatient. When I previously worked for publications I would take time to wait for an image to happen in front of me. And this is one of those times when reminding myself to have patience and wait for the light, to create something special, would, should and could have been good. A recent visit to Yankton, SD I did wait for the light, but not long enough. Siouxland, while a large enough area, is not that large. And heading down south back to Sioux City I was thinking about dinner. But dinner could have waited. I saw in my rearview mirror a wonderful red, painting the early evening sky. I had left a perfect vantage point maybe 30 minutes earlier where I could have sat and waited, for Godot. But I don’t think I would have been disappointed.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

The sun sets west of Yankton, South Dakota Friday, Dec. 30, 2016. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

The sun sets west of Yankton, South Dakota Friday, Dec. 30, 2016. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Reflection in the Missouri River near downtown Yankton, South Dakota Friday, Dec. 30, 2016. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Reflection in the Missouri River near downtown Yankton, South Dakota Friday, Dec. 30, 2016. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Leave a Reply

