Chilled but not Stirred, Dressing warm in Siouxland, Vermillion, SD

13 Feb

While visiting the University of South Dakota campus at Vermillion, SD recently I was struck by how much has not changed when it comes to youth. The morning started out at 10 degrees, above zero. I can remember when I was in college and walking to my classes in winter I must have looked like the Michelin tire guy hidden within the parka I owned. Most students appeared not to worry about the cold.

Maybe speculating it was a short walk from the dorm room to a class or the cafeteria. I only saw a few people dressed like the weather was cold. But saw quite a few dressed like spring had already arrived with temps in the 60’s. Maybe my aged bones just don’t like the cold as much or can do without it, but I will give credit to those “red” looking individuals who certainly looked cold crossing campus. Maybe they just wanted a natural way to support their sports team, the Yotes, as red is the college’s color, their exposed skin certainly took on an unusual hue of red. Ah youth.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

