Finding Red in Siouxland, Vermillion, SD

15 Feb

While looking through some files for a friend I came across an image I made during an outing for my Photo Safari class that I teach at a local community college. As a class we make trips to various places and photograph. The very last class everyone brings their favorite 25 images and we compare notes and talk about what everyone has done.

The image I came across is of a red flower. Not a grand image, but it was what I found that day. I reflected on the fact that it’s not a rose and so not appropriate for a Valentine’s Day remark, but it is blooming, still, among green grass and that made me think of spring.

I know it’s coming. It will be here soon. And this winter has not been bad. But I for one will be happy when spring arrives.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Blooming flowers at the University of South Dakota, in Vermillion, South Dakota, May 2, 2015. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Blooming flowers at the University of South Dakota, in Vermillion, South Dakota, May 2, 2015. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Leave a Reply

