Looking for Landscapes in Siouxland and Finding Details, Woodbury County

25 Feb

There are days I take drives in Siouxland looking for “wonderful” landscapes to photograph and just coming up empty. Sometimes I believe I don’t see anything that inspires me or I just like being out because it’s a nice day and I have no set agenda of what it is I am actually looking for. On some of those days I take a moment and decide that maybe I don’t need to photograph a grandiose scene but possibly something more detail oriented. One can look at a scene and see a lot. But there are times it takes a discerning eye to distill a scene down to something in particular. Maybe not just a grove of trees or flowers or even one barn. Maybe just trying to see through the looking glass for something altogether different. Or not.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Doorway in rural Woodbury County, Iowa Tuesday Oct. 18, 2016.       (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Doorway in rural Woodbury County, Iowa Tuesday Oct. 18, 2016. (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Leave a Reply

