Finding a Point of View in Siouxland, Rural Plymouth County

1 Mar

I will be the first to admit that I am getting antsy about getting back out and photographing Siouxland or northwest Iowa. Well that part of Siouxland anyway. These winter days I may go out on a day when the prairie wind is bowling me over and the chill doesn’t make me spend more time in my heating vehicle than out. On one such outing I came across a scene in a farm field in rural Plymouth County. One tree standing in a field. I like what I saw and spent some time trying to decide how to photograph it. With snow covering the edges of the road, I needed to park my vehicle on a field turnout entrance and then walk to the area I wanted to photograph. Even though the sun was shining, that sunshine look was deceiving and the wind was blowing and I was chilled. But as I tell people attending some photography classes I teach that there are many different ways of seeing and not everyone sees the same thing even though they are looking the same direction. What caught my eye at first was the fence line I guess leading to the tree. But in walking to the area I encountered a different look I also found intriguing. When in doubt shoot more not less.

 

jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

A tree in a field in rural Plymouth County, Iowa Monday, Jan. 30, 2017.   (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

A tree in a field in rural Plymouth County, Iowa Monday, Jan. 30, 2017. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

A tree in a field in rural Plymouth County, Iowa Monday, Jan. 30, 2017.   (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

A tree in a field in rural Plymouth County, Iowa Monday, Jan. 30, 2017. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

One Response to “Finding a Point of View in Siouxland, Rural Plymouth County”

  1. Wãshē Kōdä March 1, 2017 at 10:22 am #

    The snappers should be crawling out of the water creeks soon, if ya like snapping {photos} Turtles 😉

Leave a Reply

