Finding the light in Siouxland, Sioux City

25 Mar

I always like watching travel shows on PBS because normally they are filmed in beautiful light. The camera people work their schedule at a location to create memorable images. When I travel about looking for images I too am hopeful for really nice light and the possibility of creating a memorable image. But having worked in the news business for years I know that isn’t always possible. What I do know is that one should always be aware.

The other day I had to complete some work and was relaxing in the afternoon, catching up on some reading when I looked up and saw the sun setting and the beginning of a nice sunset. I was no place in particular with a high vantage point to create a sweet photo so I sat there imaging where I could have been to capture the sun going down. Then for whatever reason I looked over a fence and saw clouds in the sky and the play of light on them and that prompted me to grab my camera and make a few frames. It is not a spectacular photo, but the play of light and the silhouette of the tree made it worthwhile to me and reinforced the fact that one tries to the best one can wherever you happen to be and sometimes it works out a little better than you might think.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Clouds are lit up as the sun sets west of Sioux City, Iowa Sunday, March 19, 2017.

Leave a Reply

