Tough Decision in Siouxland, Plymouth County

26 Apr

Sometimes when one is out looking for images it can be hard to decide how to shoot a scene. Too tight, too loose, bracket your exposure, try different angles. Some of these may not be negotiable, especially if you see it from a roadway and are a locked into a position. Time of day and weather helps one make other decisions. But I find it often better to make a few exposures and I can decide later about cropping or not and shooting a scene both tight and loose.

This is a decision I came too one day while driving around Plymouth County. I saw the scene from a county road and the sky was nice with some clouds floating through. I personally like expansive scenics but will sometimes shoot a little tighter because of what the scene presents me. If there are other items about that to my eye just don’t work, I will crop in camera to leave them out. Or possible adjust my position if that seems better. But as one shoots more and gravitates to what you like and how you see, these decisions can most times become easier, but not always easy.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Clouds rolling through rural Plymouth County, Iowa Tuesday, April 4, 2017. (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

A rustic barn in rural Plymouth County, Iowa Tuesday, April 4, 2017. (Photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

Leave a Reply

