Visiting new/old places in Siouxland, Washta

27 May

It seems I am always out for a drive in the Siouxland area. But I think it’s better than sitting at home, except maybe on a cold, blustery and snowy day. This particular day took me the small community of Washta.

Like many of the small communities I have visited Washta has a grain elevator business anchoring part of its downtown. And it seemed a busy place the day I was there as a number of large trucks were passing through heading to a variety of road construction projects nearby. Midwestern winters and heavy grain trucks during harvest can take a toll on county roads.

But the community is a small quiet place. A few individuals out and about while I was there. I happened to meet the mayor who was at the city hall having returned from a golf outing. Now retired, he was staying active, although it sounded like he would not be participating in any of the majors golfing events. He sounded like he still enjoyed himself.

I always find the chance to meet people and get to know the area something that I never tire of as I explore Siouxland. Everyday can be a new day and another story to hear.

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

Leave a Reply

