Exploring Areas in Southern Siouxland, Monona County

12 Jun

Recently as I was headed to an area in southern Siouxland to photograph a building I came upon a couple of barns sitting on the side of the road. As I drove by the little voice in my head said, “You’re here, so stop.” And I did. Sometimes when pressed for time I don’t consciously think I need to stop. I always tell myself you can come back. But the light, the look and whatever it was that caught your attention will never be the same the next time. It could be better, but then again…..

 

Jerry Mennenga

Sioux City, Iowa

A barn in a field off of Hwy 141in rural Monona County, Iowa Friday June 9, 2018. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

A barn in a field off of Hwy 141 in rural Monona County, Iowa Friday June 9, 2018. (photo by Jerry L Mennenga©)

2 Responses to “Exploring Areas in Southern Siouxland, Monona County”

  1. Becky June 12, 2017 at 8:46 am #

    I’m new to your blog and have not read all that you’ve written but it seems you’re capturing much of what once was. It’s a soothing journey to see the Siouxland.

    • jerrymennenga June 13, 2017 at 8:34 pm #

      Becky,

      Thank you. It’s fun to find these places and yet sad to know many of them have a bright past. Life changes and sometimes not to the way one would like. Then again, you got to know where you’ve been to know where you are going. Enjoy the journey and again, thank you.

      jerry

Leave a Reply

